Skip to main content

December 18, 2020 - MS Medication Discussion

Today my neurologist and I discussed medication. He suggested two medications; Copaxone and Tecfidera. Since I was thinking of starting a family but have been some what undecided, we agreed on Copaxone.

I am going to have to get used to self administering an injection 3 times a week. In 6 months, June, I will have to do another MRI to make sure it is working. I hope it does Because I don't want to see the ugly side of MS. It's scary enough to know what I already know about it and I don't want to experience it worse than what I already have. 

I am still having a hard time researching multiple sclerosis. I really don't want to know anymore about it because it scares the hell out of me with each new thing I do learn.  

I am slowly making progress. I quit smoking. I am trying to be more active but going for walks. I am even researching diets and I'm going to quit drinking soon. I am trying. It sucks because it's all I think about and I am still figuring everything out.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Mobilization to the Transplant - 7/24/23 to 9/15/23

 7/24/2023 We are going to leave for San Diego soon and my anxiety is starting to surface. Today I feel impatient. I just want to get this going. I woke up last night around 2 AM with my arm, from elbow to wrist feeling like I had a rubber band wrapped around it. I don’t know why this happens, but it seems like it happens most when I am really tired, or I don’t eat well earlier that day. It might be an incentive to be better at rest and food intake, but I hate it. I wake up and I am unable to get back to sleep leaving me more exhausted until regardless of the symptoms I finally fall asleep. Honestly, I am hoping a lot of these things will improve or disappear completely with HSCT but I am not naive enough to rely on it. I will just be happy if the MS goes into remission. I would love to wake up without worrying that a new symptom will mean an MS relapse. I am exhausted of MS and I haven’t had it as long as so many others have. 7/26/2023 - Hilton, Gun shots??? Tomorrow is th...

September 30, 2021 - To The Bone

     I am so sick of posting new symptoms but I am about to post another one. Today it's cold in the house and I am borderline freezing but it feels so much better than the heat I have had to deal with I'm the summer so I am appreciating the cool air in the house.      My fingers are pretty cold and so are my feet but my feet are always ice cubes even with socks on. Then I notice the pain in my shoulder and there is a new pain in my arms. It's deep and feels like it's coming from my bones. I have never had a dull deep ache like this before. It hurts and is uncomfortable. I think it might be from the cold?      The pain in my shoulder I have had for a while now. I was told it could be caused by a muscle being pinched and inflamed. I am waiting to go to the doctor so I can talk to him about it. I think it was caused by the dystonia. A few times I had those attacks it felt like I was going to pull my arm out of the socket.      It...

September 1, 2021 - Tummy Trouble

     So this morning I was able to get out of bed and use the bathroom before the spasm hit. It was a nice change of pace. I am praying that this means things are getting better but if they are it means the muscle spasms were influenced by my menstrual cycle.      I am glad in the sense that this would mean that I wouldn't have them as often but I am disappointed that I will dread my period even more now. Only time will tell for sure.      I stopped taking the baclofen. I didn't take it at all yesterday which proves that it wasn't doing anything.       I have been working to improve enough to return to work. I miss being independent as well as not having to rest like an 80-year-old. In fact, I think an 80-year-old would have more stamina.       Having MS isn't fair. I pray the Tecfidera is working. If not, it would mean my MS is aggressive and that I would need to take some serious measures because I do...